The Department of Economics, National Taiwan University has programs leading to B.A., M.A. and Ph.D. degrees. The undergraduate program originated during the Japanese era from The School of Liberal Arts and Political Sciences of the Taipei Imperial University. After the war, the Taipei Imperial University was renamed National Taiwan University and was, at the time, the only public university in Taiwan. The School of Liberal Arts and Political Sciences was then divided into the College of Liberal Arts and the College of Law. The Department of Economics was a part of the College of Law until June 1996 when the college was renamed the College of Social Sciences. The M.A. and Ph.D. and EMEA programs were established in 1956 and 1968 and 2003 respectively. Today our department accepts 130 new students each year. Including international and transfer students, our department graduates over 180 students each year. The M.A. program accepts 4450 students, EMEA program 30 students and the Ph.D. program 14 12 students. In the past, the economics department has always been one of National Taiwan University's most popular departments for transfer students. The number of students from the sciences and engineering attracted to the department is rising, but due to restrictions set by the Ministry of Education, many of these students are disappointed. Between 1947 and June 2009, we have produced an estimated 9,238 alumni including 1030 from the M.A. program and 104 doctoral students.



21, Hsu-Chow Road, Taipei 100, Taiwan
TEL: (02)2351-9641 ext 274, 275 FAX: (02)2351-1826