NTU HIGHLIGHTS December 2016  
  International Corner  

NTU Draws Praise for Entrepreneurship Drive at AEARU Meeting in South Korea

Executive Vice President for Academics and Research Tei-Wei Kuo and Vice President for International Affairs Luisa Shu-Ying Chang represented NTU President Pan-Chyr Yang at the 22nd Annual General Meeting and 39th Board of Directors Meeting of the Association of East Asian Research Universities, which took place at Seoul National University during October 14-16.

At the directors meeting, Executive Vice President Kuo won for NTU the honor of serving as the host university for the AEARU's 24th Annual General Meeting and 43rd Board of Directors Meeting in 2018, the year that NTU will celebrate its 90th anniversary.

Similarly, this year's meetings were scheduled to coincide with SNU's 70th anniversary. This provided the 17 university presidents, vice presidents, and international affairs directors that participated in the meetings the opportunity to attend the South Korean university's 70th anniversary ceremony, which was presided over by SNU's President Nak-In Sung. Executive Vice President Kuo presented President Sung with a wood carving specially selected by the Office of International Affairs from the NTU Experimental Forest.

Founded in 1996, the AEARU celebrated its 20th anniversary this year. NTU and National Tsing Hua University are the only Taiwanese universities that are members of the association and share Taiwan's membership on the board of directors on a rotating basis. NTHU President Ho-Cheng Hong's current term on the board comes to an end this year and NTU President Yang will begin a new term in 2017.

During the general meeting, Executive Vice President Kuo delivered a speech introducing NTU's Taidah Entrepreneurship Center. Kuo described how NTU began its drive to promote entrepreneurship by opening NTU Garage in 2008 and then went on to establish the Innovation and Entrepreneurship Program in later years and the Stanley Wang D-School@NTU in 2015. He emphasized that NTU's mission for education, research, and innovation is to teach students to not fear failure and to have the courage to innovate.

Following his speech, many university representatives sought Kuo out to praise NTU's efforts and ask for more details about its strategies. In particular, representatives of the Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Pohang University of Science and Technology, and Hong Kong University of Science and Technology expressed their deep interest in NTU's D-School.

During the AEARU meetings, Executive Vice President Kuo bumped into many old friends from academia and met with university presidents and vice presidents. These included Peking University President Jian-Hua Lin and the vice presidents of Nanjing University and Tsinghua University. He also met with President Kyosuke Nagata of the University of Tsukuba, with whom he discussed a three-university cooperation alliance and exchanged opinions regarding numerous academic cooperation topics.

In addition to hosting the AEARU meetings in 2018, thanks to the hard work of the Office of International Affairs, NTU will also host the Annual Presidents Meeting of the 45-member Association of Pacific Rim Universities that year. Together, the two events are expected to draw 35 to 40 university presidents or 40 to 45 vice presidents as well as over 100 administrators to the NTU campus and provide an ideal opportunity for internationalization plans and matchmaking efforts with other institutions.